Abbott, Davis win party primaries for governor

Texas’ March 4 primary night returns confirmed Greg Abbott and Wendy R. Davis as nominees for governor.
Abbott, current state attorney general, got 91.5 percent of the statewide vote in the GOP primary. Davis, a state senator from Fort Worth, got 79 percent in the Democratic primary. “Ray” Madrigal of Corpus Christi got 21 percent.
In the race for lieutenant governor, state Sen. Leticia Van de Putte of San Antonio ran unopposed and is the Texas Democratic Party’s nominee. Her legislative resume includes eight years as a state representative and 13 years as a state senator.


The rest of this story is restricted to subscribers only.
Already registered? Login below
Already a subscriber: Click here to register.
Register for FREE Digital-Only Access through March 31, 2018
Click here to purchase a subscription.

Remember me for 2 weeks

Forgot Password