Council seats 5 on MDD board

Speed limits lowered, school zone established on FM 730 South

by Carla Noah Stutsman
The bylaws call for a seven-person board of directors for a newly approved Municipal Development District, and so far, the Azle city council has appointed individuals to five of those seats.
Two more are anticipated to be selected at the council’s regular meeting Tuesday, July 2.
During its second regular monthly meeting Tuesday, June 18, council appointed two of its own members to fill two of the MDD slots.
Council member Paul Crabtree will fill a two-year term in Place 1 while Dr. William Chambers, also an Azle council member, took a one-year term in Place 2.
From outside the Azle city council, three individuals were appointed to seats on the MDD board.
Ray Ivey, former assistant superintendent for the Azle Independent School District and now a consultant and active volunteer, will fill a two-year term in Place 4.
Kevin Ingle, was appointed to a one-year term in Place 6 and Joe McCormick will fill a two-year term in Place 3.
Applications continue to be accepted for positions on the MDD board until Friday, June 28.

Speed limit changes on 730
The council also approved Ordinance No. 2013-11 at the request of the Texas Department of Transportation.
The ordinance reduces the speed limit on a portion of FM 730 South from just south of its intersection with West Main Street in Azle to south of its intersection with Veal Station and Flat Rock Roads from 60 mph to 55 mph.
The ordinance also establishes a school zone on FM 730 South near its intersection with South Stewart Street for the Azle Christian School.
Motorists should note that when the school zone lights are flashing, the speed limit is reduced from 55 mph to 35 mph.
The ordinance took effect upon its passage.