Elections slated for Saturday

Early voting ended Tuesday, May 7 in advance of general elections slated for Saturday, May 11 around Texas.

Locally, a number of contested races will be decided along with propositions in Azle, Lakeside, and for Parker County Emergency Services District One.

Incumbent Mayor Alan Brundrett, Mayor Pro Tem Bill Jones in Place 3, and Paul Crabtree in Place 4 each ran unopposed and will retain their respective seats.

In Place 6, Jeffrey Wise did not defend his seat, so voters will elect either Damon Bethurum or Lee Barrett to represent them at large.

Voters who live in the portion of Azle that lies within Tarrant County will also decide for or against the following proposition:

“Authorizing the creation of the Azle Municipal Development District and the imposition of a sales and use tax at the rate of one-half of one percent for the purpose of financing development projects beneficial to the district.”

In the Azle Independent School District Board of Trustees election, Sam Merck in Place 5, board president Bill Lane in Place 6, and vice president Jeff Edwards in Place 7 are all unopposed and will retain their respective seats.

But the list of contenders for Place 1 is long. Former AISD board member Erik Loeffelholz was appointed to fill the seat until a special election could be held. Loeffelholz is running to fill the remainder of the term – about a year – along with challengers Bernadette Roquemore, Warren Smith, Thomas Kisner, and Clifton McDonnel.

In the town of Lakeside Mayor Pat Jacob and Amy Robinson in Place 4 are unopposed in their bids for reelection.

Place 5 is up for grabs, though, and voters will choose between Richard Dennis, Bill Mohr, and Charles Hamilton.

Voters will also give an up or down vote on the following proposition:

“The adoption of an additional sales and use tax within the city at the rate of one-fourth of one percent to be used to reduce the property tax rate; and the adoption of a ‘Type’ B sales and use tax for the benefit of a Texas Development Corporation Act (the ‘Act’) Type B Corporation at the rate of one-half of one percent to be used for any and all purposes provided or allowed by applicable provisions of the Act, as it may be amended from time to time, including Chapters 501 and 505 of the Texas Local Government Code, including but not limited to all projects authorized by the Act (including, but not limited to for infrastructure relating to water supply facilities, sewer facilities, and water conservation programs), and the maintenance and operations expenses for any of those projects; and the adoption of a local sales and use tax in the Town of Lakeside at the rate of one-fourth of one percent to provide revenue for maintenance and repair of municipal streets.”

Voters in the city of Pelican Bay will decide three contested races for their city council.

Bill Morley and Sabra Swaim are vying for Place 3, while Tish Allen and Glen Oberg are running for Place 4.

A three-way race is underway for Place 5 with Robin Finstad, Marshal Daniel, and Joe Bologna campaigning for the seat.

In the city of Reno, Mayor Linda Stokes and David Andrews in Place 2 are each unopposed and will retain their seats.

Voters will decide between Keith “Eric” Hunter and Carol Houlihan to fill Place 4.

The city of Sanctuary is not holding an election because Megg Elliott in Place 1, Michelle McCoy in Place 3, and Floyd Galloway in Place 5 are each running unopposed for their respective seats.